Photo: Hugo Glendinning

The Five and the Prophecy of Prana, a narrative dance piece with an original story combining hip hop, manga and martial arts. Kenrick ‘H2O’ Sandy (Choreographer) and Michael ‘Mikey J’ Asante (Composer) are joined by award-winning Japanese manga artist Akio Tanaka.

“He who restores five to one, controls all the elements under the sun”

Five young troublemakers are sent to a rehabilitation camp for young offenders, following their arrest for delinquent behaviour. Run by Wang Tang, a Grand Master of the Pih Poh Fumartial art, he is tasked with their re-education through its rigorous physical and mental training.

Unknown to the five, Wang Tang is also a Guardian of Prana-a secret group of warriors entrusted with the protection of an ancient spell that controls peace and harmony in the kingdom. When a rebellious Guardian breaks ranks and seeks to take supreme power of all the elements thus fulfilling the Prophecy of Prana, the five must combine their newly acquired martial arts skills and lead the battle of good against evil.

The Five and the Prophecy of Prana is produced by Boy Blue and co-commissioned by the Barbican, London and Derry ~ Londonderry City of Culture 2013.

Co-produced by the Barbican and Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg

Supported using public funding by the National Lottery through Arts Council England

Additional support from The Great Britain Sasakawa Foundation and Laban Theatre, Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music & Dance

Created & Directed by:
Kenrick ‘H2O’ Sandy & Michael ‘Mikey J’ Asante

Kenrick ‘H2O’ Sandy

Michael ‘Mikey J’ Asante

Manga Collaborator
Akio Tanaka

Video Design, Set and Production
Yeast Culture

Creative Director - Video Design and Animation
Nick Hillel
Set Design
Sander Loonen

Lighting Design
Mike Gunning

Sound Design
Colin Pink

Costume Design
Jane Dickerson

Creative Collaborator
Paulette Randall

Jumar Aben
Bradley ‘Bradz’ Charles
Tommy Franzen
Xena Gusthart
Kayla Lomas-Kirton
Vicky ‘Skytilz’ Mantey
Kofi ‘Klik’ Mingo
Theo ‘Godson’ Oloyade
Michèle ‘Paleta’ Rhyner
Hakim Saber
Shaun Smith
Duwane Taylor
Frank Wilson